Getting better versed about E-Verify

As you already know, E-Verify is the free, Web-based system operated by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) in partnership with the Social Security Administration (SSA). It compares employee information from the Form I-9 against federal databases to confirm that new hires are legally authorized to work in the United States.

But do you know some of the latest developments surrounding this federal program? Here are the top four:

1) It is mandatory for federal contractors

As of September 8, 2009, all federal contractors and subcontractors (including those who receive American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds) are required to use E-Verify to check a worker’s employment eligibility. The rule applies specifically to contracts of more than $100,000 and subcontracts of more than $3,000.

2) Nearly ¼ of our states require E-Verify

While largely a voluntary program, E-Verify is required for public and/or private employers in 13 states (ten through legislation and three through executive orders).

3) Participation in E-Verify is growing rapidly

More than 182,000 employers are currently enrolled in E-Verify, with more than 8.7 million queries generated in 2009. As of mid-January, the number of queries in 2010 had already reached 3.6 million.

In addition, the number of registered employers is growing by more than 1,200 per week.

4) E-Verify participants must comply with posting requirements

In addition to following specific procedures for new hires, E-Verify users must clearly display both the English and Spanish Notice of E-Verify Participation and the Right to Work Poster. Together, they explain the employer’s use of E-Verify and the rights of employees.

Keep in mind that even if your business outsources I-9 compliance and employment eligibility verification (and E-Verify is part of that process), you must display these postings in the workplace.

No comments:


Labels :

Copyright (c) 2010. Blogger templates by Bloggermint